MFS DC VIEW

This edition of DC View highlights trends across the defined contribution market and provides an update on regulatory news.

 

Kristen E. Colvin

Director, Investment Solutions Group

VIEW FULL PROFILE

Peter A. Delaney

Director, Investment Solutions Group

VIEW FULL PROFILE

QuickFacts

  • The US retirement funding gap is expected to nearly quintuple over the next 33 years. According to a new report by the World Economic Forum, increasing life expectancy (see graphic below) and a falling birth rate are the primary causes behind the savings gap, but there are five other major contributing factors listed in the report, including low expected investment returns and the high degree of individual responsibility to manage pensions assets.
  • Momentum continues for collective investment trusts (CIT) in DC plans. According to Callan’s 2017 Defined Contribution Trends report, 65% of plans offer a CIT in their fund lineup, up from 48% in 2012. Meanwhile, mutual funds have decreased in prevalence from 92% to 84% over the same period.
  • Target date fund assets have grown over six times from $116 billion in 2006 to $880 billion in 2016.  Target date funds continue to play a critical role in achieving successful retirement outcomes for investors. This year’s Target-Date Fund Landscape by Morningstar aims to deliver insight into the trends in the target date fund space and provide added perspective by answering questions that frequently arise.
  •  Employees spend a median of two hours on personal financial matters while at work each week. The 2017 Workplace Benefits Report by Bank of America Merrill Lynch points out that employees’ financial concerns can also become a challenge for employers because of lost productivity. The report found that younger employees spend significantly more time each week at work on personal finances than older employees.     

The retirement savings challenge for women

Women may need more retirement income because they live longer, but they might save less if they leave work to care for family

Regulatory timeline

There has been continued regulatory advancement in the US.

Join MFS on the road

Institutional investor

DC Symposium
Join MFS September 14 and 15 in Half Moon Bay, Calif., to discuss the expanded role of retirement income in core menu investment design.

DC Summit
On November 5 and 6 in Boston, MFS’ global DC team will share insights from new proprietary retirement income research, including participant and retiree post-retirement objectives, misconceptions around income and savings and implications to plan design.
http://www.iiconferences.com/category/ defined-contribution/

University Conference Services

University Conference Services Mid-Sized Retirement and Healthcare Plan Management Conference
Join MFS September 27 through 30 in Austin, Tex., at the UCS Mid-Sized Retirement and Healthcare Plan Management Conference, where we’ll discuss the power of white- label investments and how they might help you optimize the plan participant’s experience.
http://www.ucs-edu.net/conferences

DCIIA

Academic Forum
On October 18 and 19 MFS will join fellow DCIIA members in New York at this annual event that brings together leading academics and innovative plan sponsors and practitioners for a series of panels on how to improve outcomes in defined contribution plans.
http://www.DCIIA.org 

Insights & blogs

DC View: April 2017 global edition
This global edition of DC View highlights global trends across the defined contribution market and provides an update on regulatory news in various markets around the world.
Learn more

Target date funds under the hood: The importance of fixed income diversification
Fixed income diversification is an important but often overlooked component of TDF asset allocation.
Learn more

Fixed Income: Mitigating risk through active management
This white paper series highlights the MFS fixed income team’s benchmark-aware approach to fixed income investing, which provides important risk management discipline while addressing some of the issues associated with passively tracking an index.
Learn more

 Sales team 

Central

Greg Jones, CFA
Director
– Institutional Sales
+1 617 954 4505
gjones@mfs.com


Northeast

Karen Gray
Managing Director
– Institutional Sales
+1 617 954 5977
kgray@mfs.com


Southeast

Sean Kenney, CFA
Director – Institutional Sales
+1 617 954 5653
smkenney@mfs.com


Southwest

Ed Grant, CFA, CAIA
Managing Director
– Institutional Sales
+1 617 954 4501
egrant@mfs.com

 

Kelley Rullo 
Associate Director
– Institutional Sales
+1 617 954 5788
krullo@mfs.com


Pat Tonelli
Associate Director
– Institutional Sales
+1 617 954 5707
ptonelli@mfs.com                         

Consultant Relations team

Christopher (Topher) Callahan
Senior Managing Director
– Regional Head, North America
+1 617 954 6010
ccallahan@mfs.com

 

US East

Siobhan Acheson
Director
– Consultant Relations
+1 617 954 6572
sacheson@mfs.com


US Midwest

Robert Marren
Managing Director
– Consultant Relations
+1 617 954 5942
rmarren@mfs.com

 

US West

Stephen Haas, CFA
Managing Director
– Consultant Relations
+1 617 954 7581
shaas@mfs.com

 

Devin Mackie
Associate Director
– Consultant Relations
+1 617 954 4353
dmackie@mfs.com                              

Relationship Management team 

Steve Eastman
Director –
Relationship Management
+1 617 954 5497
seastman@mfs.com


Paul Garbe
Director –
Relationship Management
+1 617 954 5948
pgarbe@mfs.com


Stacey Haigh
Director –
Relationship Management
+1 617 954 4547
shaigh@mfs.com


Kim Hyland
Managing Director – Relationship Management
+1 617 954 5575
khyland@mfs.com
Carolyn Lucey, CIMA
Director –
Relationship Management
+1 617 954 5890
clucey@mfs.com


Terence Welch 
Managing Director
– Relationship Management
+1 617 954 5038
twelch@mfs.com


Matthew Westhoven
Director –
Relationship Management
+1 617 954 7382
mwesthoven@mfs.com                              

     

The views expressed in this report are those of MFS® and are subject to change at any time. These views should not be relied upon as investment advice, as securities recommendations, or as an indication of trading intent on behalf of any other MFS investment product.

Unless otherwise indicated, logos and product and service names are trademarks of MFS® and its affiliates and may be registered in certain countries.

 

This content is directed at investment professionals only. 

25619.23
close video

This website uses cookies to operate the site, for site analytics, and for advertising. Please see our Cookies Policy for details and instructions on how you may disable or opt out of cookies. By continuing to use this website you agree to the use of cookies on this site unless you have disabled them.